Anne Gibbon Memorial Bursary

(Hope Afloat Canada)

Hope Afloat Canada is a Comox Valley dragon boat team made up of people who have been diagnosed with breast cancer. We believe that we can live full and active lives by participating in the sport of dragon boat racing. Anne Gibbon was a founding member of Hope Afloat Canada and a valued and energetic team-mate.

The Anne Gibbon Memorial Bursary (Hope Afloat Canada) in the amount of $750.00 is offered to a student graduating from a Comox Valley secondary school entering the field of Health Sciences at any accredited post-secondary Canadian institution in British Columbia.

Criteria include:

  • Financial need
  • Academic excellence
  • Involvement in extra curricular activities
  • Two reference letters

Please download and complete the Anne Gibbon Memorial Bursary (Hope Afloat Canada) student application form. Please return your application (with letter of introduction, two reference letters and school transcripts attached) to your school office by April 15th.

Past Bursary Recipients

Here are previous recipients of the Anne Gibbon Memorial Bursary:

Bursary Winners: Year: School: Amount:
 Madison Monteiro

Photo left to right – Leona Peter, Madison Monteiro, Florence Williams

 2016  Mark R. Isfeld Secondary  $750.00
 Genoa Horsthius

Photo left to right – Wilma Deneault, Genoa Horthius, Barb Krock

 2016  G. P. Vanier Secondary  $750.00
 Cole Freeman

Photo left to right – Leona Peter, Cole Freeman, Wilma Deneault

 2015  Mark R. Isfeld Secondary  $750.00
 Juliana Bartemucci

Photo left to right – Wilma Deneault, Juliana Bartemucci, Leona Peter

 2015  Highland Secondary School  $750.00
 Lena Walther & Megan Ireland

Pictured left to right: Barb K., Lena Walther, Megan Ireland, Leona P.


 2014  G.P. Vanier Secondary $750.00 each
Eunbin Cho & Teara Armstrong

Bursary winners: Eunbin Cho and Teara Armstrong with presenters Janice M. and Florence W.


2013 GP Vanier Secondary $750.00 each
Katie Symonds

Bursary winner Katie Symonds with presenter Leona Peter

2012 Highland Secondary School $750.00
Holly Needham

Bursary winner Holly Needham with presenters Robyn Hazleton and Shirley Brown

2011 G. P. Vanier Secondary $750.00
Sylva Wiedeman

Bursary winner Sylva Wiedeman with presenters Ted Gibbon and Leona Peter

2010 G. P. Vanier Secondary $750.00
Laramie Ferguson

2009 bursary winner Laramie Ferguson with Hope Afloat presenters Shirley B. and Leona P.

2009 Mark R. Isfeld Secondary $750.00
Britnie Potter

2008 Bursary winner Britnie Potter (Mark R. Isfeld Secondary) with Hope Afloat presenters Marie I. and Bev P.

2008 Mark R Isfeld Secondary $750.00
Cody Ponting

Receiving Hope Afloat’s 2007 bursary is Cody Ponting of G.P. Vanier Secondary School. Presenting the bursary on behalf of Hope Afloat Canada is Jacquie Wright and Velda Hoggan

2007 G. P. Vanier Secondary $750.00
Kimberly Howell 2006 Highland Secondary $500.00
Cheryl Wilson 2005  G. P. Vanier Secondary $500.00
G. Thomas Walton 2004 Highland Secondary $500.00